Slice of Life – 1 of 31

OK, here we go!

I’ve been thinking all day about what my slice should be today. I knew I wouldn’t be able to write until later tonight, but several times during day I had the itch to quickly write down something. That’s a bit hard to do when you are snowed in with a two-year-old.

When I wasn’t playing with Play-Doh, or painting, or pretending to be driving a firetruck, I kept thinking about the term “slice of life.” A “slice” seems so… final. Like it’s been cut from the rest of your life, and here it is. It’s clean, surgical, well-defined. It’s ready to be breaded, fried, and eaten. But life is hardly like that. It’s not so easy to select a “slice” of it, disconnected from everything else, a unit on its own.

So I think I am going to think of these pieces more like chunks of life. Big, messy, ill-defined, sloppy pieces, with some crumbs falling off here and there. Your hands will get sticky as you eat them, but the at the end, the satisfaction will be worth it.

One thought on “Slice of Life – 1 of 31

Leave a Reply

