Restless and bloggy

I changed the layout of my blog again a little. I don’t know why, I guess I was just getting a bit restless. It’s January. It’s cold. Nothing better to do, but obsess about my blog. If only…

The pearly picture was taken by Drew a few years ago at a flea market. Some classy flea market, right? I always liked this photo and I thought it would remind me of me – not as a mama, or a wife, or a daughter, but as me. Makes sense? Thought so.

I’ve been finding myself wearing more bling lately. Big earrings — even though it means almost losing an earlobe to Sammy on several occasions — shiny watch, rings, even bracelets. No necklace – that’s impossible with a baby around. I guess it must be because I’ve been feeling fat (not just a feeling, but a sad fact), and the jewelry makes me feel pretty. Also, it might distract from the chub. Right? I dunno… And I guess if I can’t avoid having baby snot and drool on my sweater every day, at least I should be wearing some fabulous jewelry.

Like this:

This was an anniversary gift from Drew. Nine years. Don’t get excited, it’s not a diamond ring – I think you have to be married for an eternity for that! It’s Swarovski crystals, which I love, love, love. I’ve been wanting an anniversary-type ring, because I can’t wear my engagement ring around Sam. It’s too pointy and sharp and I kept scratching and poking him with it. My wedding band sort of looked sad by itself on my hand. But now it looks happy again. Awww…

What else? Oh, I was reading the Ferber sleep book a few nights ago and laughed out loud before throwing the book on the floor. I have to admit, he gave me a lot of good insights into sleep and a lot of good ideas. Really. But when I got the chapter on naps – the topic I am most interested in – I was disappointed. Basically at the end of the chapter he writes that napping habits are hard to break and if we have a system that works, we should stick with it. Ahem. Sure, I have a system that works, but it’s nowhere near ideal. I mean, here I am, complaining about spending snuggling time with my baby during naps… I really don’t mind. Does the rest of the world mind? Do I care? The nights are a different matter – just as I was nearing the end of the book and gearing up for some long, hard nights ahead, Sammy started to sleep through them – pretty much. He slept until 5:30, then 6, then 6:30 a.m., then back to 5, 4:45… There’s always one wake-up at 3 a.m., but he’s been going back to sleep on his own. I don’t even go in, just listen and wait for him to go back to sleep. It usually happens in 2-3 minutes max. So that’s good, right? Of course, I am awake for the next 3 hours…

Oh, I am just rambling now… I am hungry. I want a snack. I don’t have a snack – both a blessing and a curse. Anyone got a pretzel? Or a piece of chocolate?

Leave a Reply

