The end is near

We got a rude reminder this week that the end, indeed, could be near. OK, maybe I am being dramatic, but it’s been a rough week in our neck of the woods. Drew was in a car accident on Wednesday – if I had the energy to hook up my phone to my computer I would upload a picture of the remains of the car. He is OK, thankfully, but our car is completely destroyed. He hit a guardrail on his way to work, right as he was getting on the Turnpike. He called just as I was getting out of the shower, so I packed up Sam, dropped him off at my Mom’s and headed to the accident scene. It was raining really hard, so I didn’t really pay any attention to the car, just quickly asked the cop waiting there where Drew was taken. I headed to the hospital, where Drew was checked out, given some Valium and some pain pills and sent home. I should have gotten a Valium myself, if you ask me.

In the afternoon we went to get our stuff out of the car and that’s when it really hit me. It was in a really, really bad shape. The entire front of the car is gone and I really don’t know how Drew walked away from it. It was very scary and very sad to think about what could have been. So I just won’t go there.

Even though Drew is OK, I didn’t feel like I could go to Orlando. I am SO bummed about this. Really. Sure, I dreaded being away from Sam, but I was also looking forward to NOT having drool on me and being around new people and seeing something new and different. I think I made the right decision by staying at home, but I was thinking about it all weekend. Ugh.

It wasn’t all doom and gloom this weekend. We took Sam to see Santa at the mall – how very American of us. He he. It was fun. Sam wasn’t exactly excited about the experience. He didn’t freak out or anything, but he didn’t crack a smile the entire time. I guess meeting Santa is serious business. We also rode the carousel they have the mall – again, Sam was completely serious and silent the entire time. I think we are going to have to teach that boy how to have fun.

I was telling Drew that this is one of the best things about having a kid: doing thinks that we would definitely not do otherwise. Last weekend at the playground I went down a slide with Sam. When was the last time I did that? Maybe 20-25 years ago? Ride a carousel? I can’t even remember… In some way we get to be kids again through Sam and that’s definitely a great experience.

I just want to say: I am SO TIRED. I don’t want to moan and groan about my lot in life, but I think with winter closing in on us, it’s really hitting me. As much as I am looking forward to the season, I also just want to take above mentioned Valium and curl up in bed for a week. A few weeks ago I started to take some heavy-duty vitamins, hoping to elevate my mood – so far I can’t tell if they are working. But I did get yet another cold… Sam is snotty as well and my handy snot sucker has been put to good use. Why does it feel so good to see large amounts of gunk being sucked out of my baby’s nose? It gives me the shivers.

At least this will be a short week and I have a fun family roadtrip to look forward to. Pennsylvania, here we come.

Leave a Reply

