A mixed bag

Maybe, just maybe, I am on my way out of this icky cold I’ve had for the past oh, I don’t know, 3 months. I hope that if I can get better then Sammy will get better too. And then Drew will get better. And then we are hopefully done for this year. Ha ha.

Some things I am looking forward to in the next couple of months:
1. ORLANDO. Hotel room, room service, pool. Need I say more?
2. Holidays. We are traveling to Pennsylvania for Thanksgiving and I think I might finally meet Drew’s dad’s side of the family. Long back story there and I won’t get into it here, but I have a strange feeling that despite what I’ve heard, I am going to like his dad and his family. We’ll see.
We are staying at home for Christmas – Christmas Eve at my parents’ and then Christmas morning at home with our Sammy. Who is going to be almost 1 by then. Jeez…
3. Sammy’s birthday. It can’t possibly be true that an entire year has almost gone by since he was born. Just not possible. I mean, we JUST brought him home from the hospital. Like, yesterday. I can’t wrap my head around it. But I am looking forward to celebrating this insane, exciting, exhausting, joyful year.
4. Spring. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Things I am not looking forward to:
1. ORLANDO. Two nights away from my bug.
2. Holidays. I mean, a 12-hour car trip with a baby???? Ok, it’s only about 9 hours, but still that’s a long time to sit in a car seat for a very mobile little boy. I am sure he will be fine, just like he was fine on the plane. What I am also not looking forward to is the fact that because of the meeting with Drew’s dad, Drew is probably going to be in lovely mood the entire trip. I will try to remain my cheerful, easy-going self. Lord, give me strength. Seriously.  
3. Winter. Last year at this time there was so much anticipation in the air. I knew that I was going to be at home with a warm muffin loaf all winter – no work, just cuddling. This year I just dread winter more than usual. We’ll get through it. Right?

Sammy news:
1. The brace is finally off his wrist. I made the executive decision this week after he got some poop on it at daycare.
2. How did he get poop on it, you might ask. Another baby had a “blowout” that got on the floor. While the teacher was cleaning the other baby, Sam went over to see what that interesting texture was on the floor. Curiosity ate the poop. The teacher swears he didn’t eat any. I just don’t want to know.
3. He learned to blow kisses. Be still, my heart.
4. Also, when I hold out my arms and say “come here to mama,” he crawls to me at an insane speed, knocking over toys, other kids, etc. I seriously can’t think of anything in the past 10 years that made me feel this good.
5. We started to brush  his teeth and he loves it. He seems so serious about it too, like he knows it’s an important job. He holds his little mouth open and reaches his little head forward and sits there patiently as I brush. When I am done I usually give him the toothbrush and he just loves to chew on it. Must feel good on the old gums.
6. Teething is a bitch.

Leave a Reply

