Making a list, checking in twice

I am in official countdown mode until our trip to Hungary next weekend. I am trying my best to get and stayed organized – I used to be so good at it and now I feel like I am all over the place. I am concentrating on getting all of Sammy’s stuff together and worry about me later. And I also remind myself that as long as I have everything for the plane ride itself, I can buy everything I need in Budapest.

I bought a couple of nifty travel items for Sam. One is this travel high chair that seems to work pretty well in test runs. I don’t think it’s too comfortable for longer use, but it will work for the trip. I also got him a Baby B’Air – I don’t know if I’ll actually use it, but I figured it can’t hurt to have it handy. The video on their website is hilarious and scary at the same time. I also have a mosquito net for him, as well as a gate check bag for the stroller. I also ordered a bunch of new toys for him to keep him entertained during the flight. I have grand illusions of him sleeping through the flight and me finally getting to read a book, but I have a feeling that won’t happen. Who knows? I’d be happy if I could get through one issue of the New Yorker on the flight. (Speaking of – WTF New Yorker? It’s the third issue we missed for some reason! I doubt that it’s our mailman stealing them… Very annoying!)

Anyway, back to the trip. I was telling Drew yesterday that I feel really weird about going home. When I was there the last time in 2006, I sort of settled it with myself that this was probably the last time for a long time I would be in Budapest. At that time we already knew that my parents were moving to the States and I saw no good reason to go to Budapest for a while. And now I am going – and not only am I going, I am going with my child. It’s going to be trippy to be in my childhood room with my own baby. Gives me the shivers….

And this face… just makes me smile:

Leave a Reply

